Maryland Hit and Run Lawyer

If you are involved in a hit and run accident, you should immediately consult with a Maryland hit and run lawyer. Under Maryland law, drivers who are involved in an accident are required to remain at the scene until they have complied with certain obligations. Leaving the scene of an accident is frequently called a “hit and run,” and it is associated with criminal penalties and MVA sanctions. If you are accused of fleeing the scene of an accident, it is important to get legal representation from a Maryland traffic lawyer.

Maryland Hit and Run Laws

A hit and run lawyer in Maryland can tell you that every driver involved in an accident involving property damage, injury, or death is required by law to remain at the scene until he or she has complied with the obligations stipulated in Maryland Transportation Code § 20-104:

  • Render reasonable assistance to any injured person
  • Call 9-1-1 for an ambulance or otherwise arrange transportation to receive medical care for anyone who requests it or obviously requires medical attention
  • Provide name, address, and vehicle registration number (and show driver’s license if requested) to any person injured in the accident or any person attending the damaged property
  • Provide the above information and show ID to any responding police officer
  • If it is not possible to complete the above two items (no person involved in the accident is able to receive the information and no law officer is present to receive the information), immediately report the accident to police and provide the information required by this statute.

Hit and Run Penalties

The penalties for leaving the scene of an accident include 8 to 12 points against one’s driver’s license as well as fines and jail or prison time.

Leaving the scene of an accident resulting in property damage only is typically associated with a maximum fine of $500 and up to 60 days in jail. However, it is considered far more serious to leave the scene of an injury or fatality accident.

Under Maryland Transportation Code § 27-113, leaving the scene of an accident resulting in serious bodily injury is a felony punishable by up to 5 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000. If the accident results in death, hit and run carries a maximum penalty of 10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.

Call Today for a Free Consultation with a Maryland Hit and Run Lawyer

A conviction for leaving the scene of an accident is often accompanied by points against your license, heavy fines, and jail or prison time. Because of the possibility of criminal conviction, having a Maryland hit and run attorney on your side gives you a fighting chance against a charge of fleeing the scene of an accident.

Often, a hit and run is a simple property damage offense. For example, a person might accidentally hit a parked car or might graze a mailbox, resulting in minor damage. A driver may leave the scene of the accident because he or she did not want the insurance hassle, or because he or she simply did not realize that the accident resulted in damage to the unattended property.

If someone witnesses the incident and reports it, you could be facing fines and jail time if the witness identifies you as the driver. By hiring a Maryland hit and run lawyer, you can challenge the identification. Your attorney may be able to have the charges against you dropped or reduced. In cases of hit and run involving personal injury, the consequences are even more serious. Leaving the scene of an accident involving serious bodily injury or death is a felony. Securing a Maryland hit and run attorney is critical for successfully fighting the charge.