Ocean City Assault Lawyer
An Ocean City assault lawyer can provide legal help if you are charged with an assault crime. Assault is broadly defined to include both offensive unwanted contact and making someone fear offensive contact. A fight that gets out of a hand or a statement construed as a threat could result in you being charged with assault. You could face potential jail time if convicted, so it is important to understand your legal rights. Contact an assault lawyer in Ocean City Maryland for help as soon as you have been charged with a crime.
- Ocean City Simple Assault Lawyer
- Assault with a Deadly Weapon in Ocean City
- Ocean City Aggravated Assault Lawyer
- Ocean City Assault on an Officer Lawyer
- Defending Ocean City Assault Charges
- Ocean City Assault Prosecution
When Can You Be Charged with Assault in Ocean City?
Maryland Code Section 3-201 defines the offense of assault in Ocean City. Under this law, you could be charged with assault for:
- Causing someone to fear that they will face imminent, unwanted contact.
- Making unwanted contact with someone, including indirect contact, like using an object to strike someone.
An individual may be charged with assault just for making a credible threat, even if he or she does not follow through with the threat. One could also be charged for making unwanted contact, even if he or she has not first threatened or made someone feel fear. Of course, if a person both threatens and follows through on a threat, this can also lead to a charge of assault.
How an Ocean City Assault Lawyer Can Help
An Ocean City assault lawyer can provide you with advice and representation as you respond to charges. Your lawyer’s goal is to help you resolve charges in a way that minimizes or avoids penalties for an assault offense. The right approach to your case will vary depending upon the charges you face and the evidence against you, so get help from an attorney as soon as you are charged with assault in Ocean City.
Types of Assault in Ocean City Maryland
Maryland defines the offense of assault into two different categories depending upon the severity of the threat or the seriousness of the harm. The two assault offenses include
- Assault in the first degree: This is a felony offense. You can be charged with this crime if you commit an assault using a firearm. You can also be charged with this crime for intentionally causing someone to experience serious physical harm, or for attempting to cause serious injury. (Code Section 3-202)
- Assault in the second degree: This is a misdemeanor offense. You can be found guilty of this offense if you make offensive or potentially harmful unwanted contact, or threaten to make such content even if no injuries are sustained. However, this offense rises to a felony if the alleged victim is a law enforcement officer.
A felony conviction is much more serious than a misdemeanor, as your right to vote and own weapons could be affected. An Ocean City assault lawyer can help you to determine if it may be possible to plea bargain down to a lesser offense if you do not want to take the trial to court.
Assault Penalties in Ocean City, Maryland
There are different penalties for first and second degree assault. Potential penalties you could face may include:
- Up to 25-years incarceration for first degree assault.
- Up to 10 years incarceration and a $,500 fine for felony second degree assault committed against certain public servants including police and probation or parole officers.
- Up to 10 years incarceration and a fine up to $2,500 for second degree misdemeanor assault.
You will be arraigned after being charged with assault and will need to decide how to plead. If you plead not guilty, you will need to attend a trial and introduce doubt about whether you committed assault. If you are found guilty, the judge will sentence you for the crime.
Many people visit Ocean City, Maryland and end up being charged with assault offenses because of an incident while on vacation. If this happens to you, you will be required to either remain in the area until your assault charges have been resolved or will need to return for a trial. If you leave the state and do not resolve your assault charges, you could face additional criminal penalties. With this in mind, contact an Ocean City assault lawyer today to set up a free consultation.